Short but Sweet: Headstands

Things are grim here. I can’t articulate it that well. All I can say is that I’m incredibly impressed and moved by my mother’s strength. And what I want for both my parents right now is relief, and peace.

My husband will always have my gratitude for the support he’s giving my family this weekend. And my daughters are handling things with maturity well beyond their years.

As for me, I feel a bit like the weak link.

What’s helping is doing headstands. I think I’ve been able to do them maybe twice before this week. On Tuesday in class I did a fairly encouraging one, and just yesterday I realized that I can pop right up there now, against the wall. Today I even managed to balance in the pose a few times. Kate, Sara and Todd were inspired to do some, too.

I never thought an inversion would make me feel so grounded, and I certainly never thought I’d be able to hang out and feel good like that. But I can. And I can go there whenever I want to and whenever I need to. Now I just need to find a good headstand wall at home.

3 Comments on “Short but Sweet: Headstands”

  1. Denise says:

    Sometimes it’s ok to be the weak link. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers.

    Like

  2. Kim says:

    What a great thing to discover!

    I was feeling super stressed the other day & wanting a yoga class but couldn’t get to one, so I did Surya Namaskar over and over in my head and it really helped.

    xo

    Like


Leave a Reply

