Birthday Blessings

I don’t often use the word “blessed” — I suppose it still has Christian connotations for me, so it feels strange. But it’s a universal term, really, and I’ve truly been feeling it for the past few days. So here I go.

I’m a big fan of my birthday, July 3. Part of it is the simple fact of its proximity to the July 4th holiday. Everyone’s in a good mood, seeing friends and family, going to the beach or a barbecue, watching fireworks. But I also tend to look at my birthday as a time to take stock, to see where I am, how I’m feeling, what life looks like. Some years it feels like, Ugh. I don’t want to be here. For the last few it’s been, This is a good place to be. I’m glad I’m here, and I’m glad all the people around me are here.

I take my friendships very, very seriously. My friends know they can count on me, always. That I’m there to listen or make them laugh. That I will take them where I find them. In the past few years, as I’ve been working on setting my own my foundation, my friendships have strengthened as well. Some have fallen away, and that’s okay. New ones have begun, and they are wonderful. Many have strengthened and deepened, and that is divine.

I’ve got many, many smart, funny, wise, brave, strong, present, open-minded, amazing people around me. If you’re reading this, chances are excellent that you are one of them. And I consider my connection with you a blessing. I am lucky to know you, and I love knowing you.

My birthday weekend was full of family and friends who know me deeply and made me feel so loved. From the ones I got to spend time with to all of those who sent me your good wishes — thank you. It means a lot.

And remember, there are still 26 days left in my birthday month. 😉

Leave a Reply

